Gnarly Oak (Spring)

There was an interesting article in our local newspaper about the young mayor (43 years old) of Los Angeles. Bear with me as I offer a few quotes from the article.

" as a politician, Garcetti is at once amiable and ambitious….he is frequently mentioned as a candidate-in-waiting for governor. It does not hurt that he comes from a famous Los Angeles political family: his father, Gil Garcetti, was the district attorney who prosecuted O.J. Simpson."

" 'I find myself in these unique places with a unique angle that nobody else can get to. I'm looking for something that moves my eye. Sometimes they are not great pictures. But I'll take a situation and try to make it aesthetically pleasing.' "

" 'Compared to other politicians, he is less self obsessed and does have an eye and a feeling for the city he lives in,' "--Eric Goldman, art critic for public radio station KCRW.

Sounds to me like a candidate for Blipfoto! Or at least an inspiration for the rest of us who struggle to come up with an interesting picture every day. We may not be "at the top", but we can (and do) certainly train our eye to take interesting pictures--"a jogger midair, a silhouette caught against a sky colored by sunrise…a close up of an insect…angular and utterly still against a wall at the Los Angeles County Museum of Art, a view, from a distance, of the skyline of Los Angeles rising in a gray morning cover of fog, a lone tree gnarled against the expanse of a blue sky."

Sound familiar?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.