Blowin' In the Wind

We broke down and hired someone to wash all the windows in the house, inside and out. It took him all day, and everything sparkles, inside and out. And as long as the curtains were down anyway, I figured I may as well wash them. And because everything was so sparkly, you could see all the dust everywhere, so I started to vacuum. And clean off desktops. And empty out an ugly set of shelves that was really just a dirt catcher. And then I found a box with all our photos from a trip to France in 1983. And a journal and photos from San Miguel d'Allende, 1996. What do you do with all this stuff? It's too hard to scan all the negatives in order to make some fabulous book that's never gonna happen, and I know I'm not going to make a meaningful scrapbook after all those years. I solved the problem by going outside and planting out the beans we bought yesterday at the nursery. And then I did some weeding so I could figure out what to do with the herb bed. The guy who worked on the windows, climbing ladders and lugging buckets and squeegees all day, looked reasonably perky at 5 o'clock, but I'm exhausted.

Oh, about the curtains: I had the best time just sitting there for a few minutes watching them move in the wind and checking out the patterns on the sidewalk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.