Fush and chups

'Fush and chups', the NZ vernacular for 'fish and chips' (except me of course who if far too proper for that ;-)

The happens to be my favourite t-shirt and t-shirt means warm and summer. Given I started the week cycling to work with a couple of layers of light merino, wind proof vest and a 'glow-in-the-dark' jacket (all the time wishing I had gloves on and possibly covered knee caps), I'm pretty pleased about this.

For us in New Zealand, Christmas means summer-time. If I was with my family I would be looking out for my favourite flower the Pohutukawa, or NZ Christmas tree, and looking forward to a BBQ tomorrow, maybe even a swim in the sea later.

Pohutukawas are far less plentiful this far south, but I did spot a few small shrub sized ones at Birdling's Flat a couple of nights ago. As for the swim? No way, I'm a born and bred northerner and have never adapted to Canterbury's frigid waters.

I've spent my day pottering around home after a run first thing. Boy it was hot at 8.30am! I'm glad I didn't need to go out today. No malls, shops or stress for me thanks. I even had a 'Nana nap' this afternoon. That should help in an hours or so time when I head out for carols and Midnight Mass.

Peace.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.