weewilkie

By weewilkie

The shadow of the thing

There's a saying that goes 'the brighter the light the deeper the shadow'. I've lately taken that to mean that if we overthink and over analyse things then we are more vulnerable to the fears and doubts around what we're creating in our minds. There is the thing, and the shadow of the thing. The more light we shine on it the darker shadow it casts.

I have been very guilty of this throughout my life. Of getting lost in the shadowlands. Of not seeing the thing, but the shadow of the thing. Taking the shadow to be the very thing.

So often it immobilises me. Breeds fear to act, to take a chance. Creating a No instead of a Yes. A Zero instead of a One. And so I remain among the shadow of things. Cut off from the real stuff.

Mindfulness is such a useful tool to chase away the shadows. To breathe, to be present is to scatter shadows and see the world as it is. I'm getting better at it. At seeing the puppet-master behind the booth creating the shadow theatre. And that, really is all our thoughts are: the shadow play. I am not the shadow play. I am the puppet master.

Onwards.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.