Jones Journal

By MeeshJ

What Are You Doing Duck?

It's my lovely neighbour's birthday today, I think she's 85, but might be 86, I didn't like to ask. I popped round with a card and a plant and didn't leave for nearly an hour, she was telling me about the couple that used to live in our house. Apparently the lady of the house was always off 'gallivanting' and her husband was quite lonely. Every time P used to go in the garden he'd appear over the fence and say 'what are you doing duck?' then promptly tell her she was doing it wrong. He'd also come round so regularly that she'd lock the doors and pretend she wasn't in. One summer she wanted to watch the tennis in peace and was actually lying on the floor to watch TV while he was peering in the window! I could just picture the scene, we're lucky to have good neighbours.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.