New Year, New Life

By jenpedler

113 steps down

How odd that on the day of a tube strike my journey to work by tube was quicker than it would have been on a normal day!
The trains on the Northern line were running at about normal frequency. Archway Station where I got on and Goodge St Station where I got off were both open but 3 stations between - Tufnell Park, Mornington Crescent and Warren St - were closed. This speeded up the journey!

But on the way in to catch the train at Archway I had an interesting encounter. The down escalator was out of order so we were directed to the stairs. "Please take care when using the spiral stairs," a notice exhorted, "There are 113 steps." I idly took a photo of the sign.
"Photography's not allowed in the station," said one of the three supervisors standing nearby.
"I thought that was just if you used flash," I replied.
"You mustn't use flash on the platform," he said, "it distracts the drivers."
"So you can take photos on the platform as long as you don't use flash?" I continued. (Which was clearly nonsense as the platforms are part of the station.)
"No," he insisted, "photography is not allowed unless you have written permission." And continued, suspiciously, "What did you want to take a photo of that sign for anyway?" Maybe he thought I was some sort of customer watchdog thinking of making a complaint. But there was really nothing to complain about. The engineer was on site and the escalator was back in service when I came home this evening.
"Oh, I'm just a bit obsessed with documenting things that happen in my life," I replied. "Anyway," I continued, "photographs record history. Think of the old photos of this station, when it had the domed roof, before the tower was built."
Historical reminiscence was clearly up his street. He started telling me all about Highgate Station (the next one after Archway going north), a lot of which I knew but it was an interesting chat.
"Go into the supervisors office next time you're there," he said, "and ask to see the old photos. I might be up there. I'll show them to you."
I thanked him and headed off to the stairs. When I was safely round the corner, out of his sight, I took a photo of them. But I must assure you, no flash was used in the making of this picture.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.