nonsenses & truths

By sloeburn

Snowdon

I've never been here before and didn't really know what it would be like. We were very lucky with the weather, a bit of rain and some strong gusts, but great clear views. We went up the Watkin path, which is quite a scramble in places, and I don't quite know how we'd have managed if the visibility was poor. Back down the miner's path, and my knees really felt the steep gradients.

I guess like most people I prefer my hills to be quieter, but I'm sure this one is fairly well visited most Saturdays. The train is a great opportunity for people with restricted mobility to experience the landscape, and I did enjoy my coffee and flapjack at the top - must take more food next time!

We'd seen a white patch on the drive in yesterday and I thought it was snow, but it wasn't until the way down that we saw a few patches on the steep north-eastern faces above Glaslyn. There were also lots of white streaks around the hills, which turned out to be lines of quartz through the rock. The colour of the water in the tarns(? they are probably something else in Welsh) was that bright blue/green associated with tropical beaches.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.