F-Words

By Imadjen

Black Wattle

Shakespeare Challenge for April #30 - Henry V (patriotism)

My gt gt grandparents emigrated to Australia from England in around 1850. I have visited other countries and enjoyed my time there, but am always happy to come home. When I think of Australia the first thing that springs to mind is not an image of the flag or the words and tune of the National Anthem.......it is the second verse of Dorothea Mackellar's poem - My Country

I love a sunburnt country,
A land of sweeping plains,
Of ragged mountain ranges,
Of droughts and flooding rains.
I love her far horizons,
I love her jewel-sea,
Her beauty and her terror -
The wide brown land for me!


Australia's national emblem is the Golden Wattle. Not in flower near here at the moment, but there is a Black Wattle trying to flower down the back and it does display the green and gold of Australia's sporting colours.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.