CannyScot's Day

By CannyScot

Wallflower

A very dull, drizzly, dreich day in Dundee.

Out in the garden, the wallflowers are coming out and this yellow one would look a lot brighter in the sun, but today it is covered in droplets.

Thinking about wallflowers took my mind back to my early teenage years when, being small and a real loner who preferred my own company, I often felt like a wallflower at parties. It took real effort to attend these but gradually I forced myself to talk to people rather than wait for them to come to me.

Over the years, although I still feel awkward attending events where I will know no one, I have overcome this shyness and will talk to anyone. I sometimes wonder what it must be like to be tall, handsome and the centre of attraction but I am what I am and just get on with it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.