Friday Foto

By drmackem

Echoes of Home

12 years ago whilst we had a one year detour in our lives as a family to New Zealand I found myself in Wellington for the afternoon with time to kill. I had a look around Te Papa Museum and they had a temporary exhibition of Henry Moore sculptures which tempted me. I was quiet surprised to be overcome briefly with what can only be described as homesickness (not a common part of my experience of living for a short while in the wonderful country). I rationalised that the echoes of the hills and dales of Yorkshire part of Mr Moores' influence in his sculptures caught me a bit off guard.

Today Matt emailed this photo - an original Henry Moore sketch of some of his sculptures which Matt now currently has hanging on his wall - he found it in some college archive and got it on loan for a few weeks. It is interesting that Matt similarly has been drawn to it, yes he's had to endure my showing him sculptures in Leeds a couple of times as a youngster, but I guess it's the echoes of his home county.

Elsewhere in the day, a quick chat with him early evening - he'd just been to listen to a combined, Eton, New College, Kings College Cambridge and Winchester Choral thing in college(these 4 colleges signed a amicabilis concordia in 1444 being on good terms since!), "It was amazing Dad, they started with Zadok the Priest - you know the Champions League music (that soccer for you foreigners), it's got me in the mood for the match tonight" - just when I thought he was getting cultured.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.