Not just letters home

By haylo53

Urban Green

What happens when you love nature but live in an urban jungle? Go find an abandoned building and plant a tree in it, obviously.

Kidding. I didn't plant this tree (shrub, whatever), but I'm sure the seed it sprung from found its way inside pretty easily given the state of the place. The tree has grown up a bit in the two and a half or so years since I originally moved in across the street (even more so since Christmas, when I was last here), and I love it. It's something of a mini sanctuary in the middle of an otherwise concrete wasteland- a sign that nature isn't too far away. It's also home to a few birds which would probably otherwise prefer the leafy suburbs if it didn't exist. Here's to a bit of urban green!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.