tempus fugit

By ceridwen

Doggone!

I went to the woods to cut a new washing line pole and after scrambling and slithering down through the bluebells and ramsons I reached the river. I mooched around for a bit and when I turned back the dog was nowhere to be seen. I retraced my route shouting Casey! Casey! at the top of my voice all the way - no sign, no sound, no dog. Had he got stuck in a burrow? He doesn't do burrows. Had he got caught on a snag? No yelping. Had he wandered off and become disorientated? No way of knowing.

Worried, I returned home. Dog found. He was in his basket under the kitchen table. I chided him. He looked at me with a hangdog expression. I cold shouldered him.

This was later after cordial relations had been restored and he was looking forward to spending the night on the young master's bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.