Munroist4113

By Munroist4113

Sign of a good night

It's a sign of a good night with good friends when the malt comes out. (Mr C does not share his Islay whisky with just anybody). All three were sampled. We bought them two years ago when we had a few days on Jura, for the hills, and on Islay for a tour of the distilleries, and for Mr C to see the place his dad came from. Some of the distilleries were so packed with bus tours we did not bother stopping - they were the big distilleries in a chain. Some of the smaller ones were delightful - at one we had to climb up rickety steps outside, ring a bell and were taken into what looked like a room out of Dickens. The distillery, Caol Ila I think, overlooked Jura - I was more interested in the view as I'm not that partial to whisky. We actually stayed in a flat adjoining another distillery, also with great views across a bay.

It's another dreich day - I saw somewhere this has been voted Scotland's favourite word. It's not mine but I suppose it is the one I have occasion to use most. I prefer stramash, fankle or glaikit.


Sent from my iPad

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.