Come unto me

Today starts off at St Mary's Shenfield - collective worship. Couldn't get a picture of the wall-to-wall children packed into every pew, sitting on steps, in choir stalls .... everywhere in St Mary's this morning, so this is an image from the altar. Not sure if "come unto me" inscribed at the bottom is "come unto me all ye who are heavy laden" they do look a bit weary, or "let the little children come unto me". My guess is it's about children with some grumpy figures complaining that they should be neither seen nor heard.  Quite fitting that the church was over-run with children this morning.

St Mary's is an interesting church, they describe themselves by saying ... "For three-quarters of a millennium prayer has been offered at our church and it has soaked into the walls, giving it a special atmosphere. ". I always arrive early, before anyone else, and leave late, after everyone has gone, and can identify with the special atmosphere when empty and when full.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.