weewilkie

By weewilkie

this unique instant, captured

First of all I had to move out of the old family home and into this flat. I needed that to frame this instant.
I had to be given two tomato plants by my Dad just before he headed off to Spain.
Outside the temperature needed to drop drastically. So the breathing leaves of the plant condensed on the glass.
Then it had to be Thursday. The bin lorry comes to the tenements opposite that day.
A car, I needed a car to drive to work so I could leave late enough to see the binmen, the lorry and its amber warning lights flashing on top.
And the angle, just right as it park directly opposite my window.
Also I had to leave my shoes in the living room so I had to go back in and find them and put them on and notice the light through the perspiring glass.
Lastly I needed a camera with a fast shutter speed to capture the flashing light at full beam. I took many photos and kept capturing other instances. Instances when there was no sunburst of amber at my bay window.
Then I captured it. This 160th of a second. A wee smiley smudge face top left. Diffused light giving it big licks among the verdant patience of a growing plant. A Glasgow room in the light morning Spring chill. An instant caught, a multitude of others equally there, equally nowhere. Just that this one came together.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.