The Morning Watch

It's nesting season. Rumour has it that there are some goslings hatched on the canal but I've not seen them yet. I might have to go all cute on you. Be warned, those of a darker disposition!

This was always going to be a tough week and today the day I've been dreading most. My only photo opportunity came on the walk to work this morning. No chance even for a quick tour of the square at lunchtime.

I need to move one of our oldest clients onto a brand new shiny platform and the latest release of the software. They should be able to come in tomorrow morning, log in with a new url and basically see all their data just where it was when they left it this evening - except overnight it will have been cleaned and massaged and transformed and copied to a whole different infrastructure. Will I be thanked if it all works beautifully? Almost certainly not. They'll just carry on working without batting an eye. Will I be cursed if the tiniest thing goes awry? Most definitely.

It's going to be a long night. See you on the other side guys.

PS Thank so much for the love for dear Winnie. And the continuing lovely comments on my blipday blip. Two days on, due to the quirks of the site, today is my proper 3rd blip birthday since I was blipborn on May 1st 2011. You don't need to bake me a cake!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.