monochrome

By monochrome

Steaming out of the station

A sight you don't see everyday - K1 62005 locomotive steaming out of Waverley Station this afternoon.

I knew something was up when I stepped out of the office and could smell something in the air. I remembered having seen what I thought at the time was smoke coming from Princes Street Gardens this morning, so I wandered over to the galleries to have a peek over and see if anything was up. After loitering around for a few minutes, I heard the whistle coming from the station and knew that there must be a steam engine in. So, a quick relocation to a vantage point with a clear view of the station meant that I managed to catch the K1 62005 leaving Waverley. A quick Google search seems to imply that it's part of the Great Britain VII tour.

It's hard to imagine what it must have been like when all the engines were steam engines, what with the amount of steam that came off just the one!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.