Yellow Warbler

Happiness is a new bird! I really didn't want to blip another one, but it was such a good day at the feeder that I couldn't resist. Not one, but two new visitors - the white throated sparrow and this female yellow warbler. I didn't think warblers cared much for sunflower seeds, but I guess if you've just flown all the way from South America they will do in a pinch. Hey, if I was hungry enough, I'd eat them myself.

We have also had a pair of brown-headed cowbirds in the last couple of days - another first for me. The yellow warbler might want to watch out for the cowbirds - they are parasitic when it comes to egg-laying, and the yellow warbler is a favorite host.

And our cardinal is back! Haven't seen him for a month or so. Of course it could be a new one, moving in. Either way, it's nice to have a cardinal in the yard.

Before I started feeding the birds I was warned that once they get going they will eat me out of house and home. At that point I was happy if any visited at all - I considered it an honour. Well, today, between the hours of 8.30 in the morning and 3.15 in the afternoon the goldfinches (for it was mainly they) demolished an entire tube-feeder's worth of sunflower seeds! That's a cylinder about 15 inches long and 2.5 inches in diameter. They could eat for America.

Other bird shots from today:
Downy Woodpecker
Hairy Woodpecker


Polk County, Wisconsin

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.