Growing Up in 16 Years

By Belizgundogdu

Let's Go and See Constantinople

This will be the first time that I'll take part in RCSA (Specialized Agencies). It is a historical committee which I wanted to try a lot, but I didn't even apply because I thought I wouldn't get picked. 3 days before the conference, a space occurred and I got in! I was really happy, but it required a lot of research. There are 2 committees one being Ottoman Divan-i Humayun and one being Byzantine War Council. Everyone is representing a character from history unlike classic MUN style where you represent a country. I was representing Ahmed Pasha. As it can be easily determined the topic was "The Fall of Constantinople". So, the first day we got to learn each other and we had a small summary of the process. Our chairs were representing II. Mehmed and Gulbahar Hatun(wife of Mehmed). Then, II. Mehmed said "Let's see if we want to take Constantinople from those infidels!". We were really surprised. We thought we'll see a photograph or so, but II. Mehmed got the Ottoman Flag and left the committee ordering us to follow. Then we realized, we were going to plateau to see the Constantinople, literally. It was little hard since I was wearing high-heels, but it was really fun to talk about the committee in the plateau on grass while others were stuck in a room starting the debate. It was unforgettably fun and muddy.

Photograph (left to right): Gulbahar Hatun (Deniz Yuksel), II. Mehmed (Yunus Emre Erdolen), Emperor Constantine (Nesi Altaras), Duke Francesco (Baha Aydin)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.