At Work (3)

Just being silly now, I must be tired. Beck was out late at the Evening Post Business Awards and I used my time usefully (for a change) to do a couple of printing jobs, take and fetch Katie from guides and watch (finally) not only the end of 'The Kill List' (obviously it was never going to end well but that was still pretty unexpected, in so far as I even understood what was actually going on - I'm glad I didn't let middleman explain/spoil it all for me in the interim after all...!) but all of 'The Selfish Giant' as well, which was excellent (grim, of course, but then I was expecting that, and also moving, beautiful, poetic, all of that... though I was expecting more horse and trap racing and less scrap collecting...)

Possibly not quite ‘my usual thing’, but I’ve been listening to the new album by Heterotic, the band that Mike Paradinas has with his wife, for the last few days and enjoying it a great deal. That is, I enjoyed it yesterday but I enjoyed it even more today, which seems like a decent criteria. There’s a lot going on: kind of ‘synth wizard’ proggy bits, a prefab eighties production sheen and white r’n’b vocals somewhat reminiscent of that last Bon Iver effort – a creeping hint of dub later on even moves things enticingly into Peaking Lights territory. According to the Planet Mu websit, the couple are “influenced by (among other things) Fleetwood Mac and old Nu Groove records” which seems fair enough…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.