Gardening for Wildlife

Not been out today, but I've managed to get through quite a long to do list - very satisfying! At one point I went to have a look at the 3 pond plants we have bought for the new pond, and was astonished to find a pair of goggly frog eyes looking back at me, so along with 2 pond skaters, I can honestly say we have a wildlife pond. It's taken about a month for this to happen so I'm very pleased. Sorry I didn't have the presence of mind to grab my camera. These are some seeds I have sown to fill the gaps until all our new shrubs and perennials fill out a bit. It's been a while since I've grown stuff from seed and I've bought one of those £20 plastic and wire greenhouses. I'd seen them and was a bit sceptical, but my friend in Devon was very enthusiastic about hers which she has had for a few years, so they do the job.
In other news, all 4 peregrine chicks have now hatched. Don't take my word for it. See the little fluff bundles here.Last year, 3 out of 4 eggs hatched. apparently the male accidentally pierced one of the eggs on landing on the platform when bringing in food. Next landmark will be to see if all 4 fledge.
Apologies for getting a bit behind in my commenting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.