Oregon Ensatina Salamander


I had a plan for my 1000th blip today with the number 1000 created out of spray paint cans lined up on the seat of my half-painted, mostly disassembled, motorcycle... but the best laid plans often go astray.

As we were pulling up stakes at our campsite this morning I had a close encounter of the salamander kind.

Minding my own business crouching alongside our trailer disconnecting its umbilical cords, I unexpectedly was confronted by an amazingly self-possessed salamander swaggering along right at me who obviously meant business!

I had the distinct feeling that he was all about reclaiming his piece of the forest and seeing to it that I was on my way posthaste

Were he one of the big 13 inch (33cm) Pacific Giant Salamanders I’d have had to jump out of its way or I'd have been run over.

Lucky for me he was a 4 ½ inch Oregon Ensatina Salamander who stopped short of kicking me out physically and instead stared me down as I hurriedly unplugged, hitched up, and pulled out.

I do love the salamanders in all their colors and sizes (even the tough guys).

Full frame:

Ensatina Ensatina eschscholzii
Ensatinas have short bodies and yellow or orange legs. Two sub-species of ensatinas live in Oregon. The Oregon ensatina (E. e. oregonensis) is solid red, orange, brown or tan colored, while the painted ensatina (E. e. picta) has small yellow, black or white spots on the back and tail. Ensatinas are one of the lungless salamander species; they breathe through their moist skin. They can grow to just over four inches in total length.
Ensatinas live in humid forests, woodlands and shrub lands. They commonly use woody debris, such as logs, bark piles at the base of snags (standing dead trees), stumps and even woodpiles in residential areas for cover from weather and protection from predators.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.