LightWave

By LightWave

Swamp

This is what it would look like in this part of the world if the country was left to its own devices.

I was walking through the woods a couple of days ago, lamenting the lack of greenery. Until I looked closely, that is. For every rock and tree is covered in a layer of lichen or moss, and leafless though they might be, the trees are already a veritable artists palette of greens.

I paid a price for trekking through the woods though. This morning, about half an hour after I got up, I felt a pain in my ribs, like a bruise. It didn't go away, like these things usually do, instead it got worse and prompted me to look in the mirror to investigate. Bloody deer tick! It took 20 minutes to get it out. Lucky I have a Mr. Lightwave to take care of these things. And some doxycycline in the medicine cabinet.

Mr. L. and I are going to have to groom each other every evening from now on like Jane Goodall's chimpanzees.

Polk County, Wisconsin

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.