New day

...and it's my birthday.

I'm fighting off a cold and haven't had the energy to do what I'd hoped to. I still managed a walk on the hills this morning, just a lot less than what I'd intended.

I like the first rays of sun catching the city

This is my first birthday without Mum and I've shed a few tears. But I have many memories of the things she did at birthdays, the cakes she made when I was little and the things she did to make it special. It's hard to get past the sadness but she would have wanted me to enjoy today too. All in all I think I've been realistic.

A lovely warm day, good for opening up home, airing and hopefully helping where it leaks. Not a good day for shooting ducks I'm told, but the fisher/hunter seemed happy enough on the phone. I bet the ducks didn't mind a fine opening day.

I've pottered about, finished the soup I started making last night and smoked a couple of salmon caught last weekend (as you do on your birthday ;-) Oh, and the washing is done. Not much energy for anything else.

I'm out tonight with friends and I will enjoy that. Family and friends have text, phoned or emailed. There is much to be grateful and I'm sure Mum is somewhere smiling.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.