Not a pony in sight!

Quite an eventful day today. I was up early to help marshal a 20 mile road race from Edinburgh to North Berwick. I was responsible for the water station at mile 3.

I cycled the 5 miles out there for 10.15 to set everything up, and about an hour later the runners started coming past. Afterwards I cycled home and Michael (who was also marshalling) came and picked me up, so we drove to North Berwick to see people at the finish. It was a fantastic day for the Porty crew - everyone ran really well and looked fantastic doing it. I was very impressed!

Michael and I then took a wee walk to the top of North Berwick Law. A sign at the bottom told us that there were wild ponies grazing the hill, but we couldn't find any. We did see the massive whale jaw bone at the top, as you can see in the picture.

Well ok, not the actual whale jawbone. Apparently the actual jawbone, which had stood there since 1933, rotted away and collapsed in June 2005. A whale bone has stood on the site since 1709 though, so in 2008 it was replaced by this fibreglass replica.

An ice cream and chip butty on the way home rounded things off nicely. A special thanks to Michael for the awesome day.

I'm now sitting watching the new Robocop film on my iPad. Hope everyone has had as good a day.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.