Bicentenary Celebration

Two hundred years ago the Treaty of Paris was signed marking the end of the Napoleonic Wars. This inspired the building of the original monument on the hill known as Stoodley Pike.
Its successor - which you see here - is listed as one of the oldest towers dedicated to peace in the world.

Today Calder Civic Trust hosted a celebration to mark the occasion - complete with numerous dignitaries and with a Brass Band playing.
Unfortunately I couldn't get to these festivities but I wanted to record something of the day, so I had to be content with a blip taken from Great Rock, Higher Eastwood.

This is on the opposite side of the Calder Valley and about one and a half miles away as the crow flies. I think my Sony 70-300 telephoto zoom has done a pretty good job :-)


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.