Jack James

By JackJames

sun!

A grey morning. Me and Sean went to the gym with the idea to have a long sweat in the sauna, but it was closed for maintainance. Just our luck. So after a brief hour on the climbing wall, I walked back home, and in glorious sun.

It's a day for a bike ride.

I headed, like a migrating swallow drawn by invisible strings and unknown forces towards open spaces and moving water. I strolled with the sand between my toes, the wind in my hair and sun on my face, and sat, contented with nothing but the waves and my thoughts for two hours.

Onwards, along the front, while the rising tide covering the days prints and setting the canvas for the night birds. Queensferry, the small port at the base of the magnificent bridge, was bustling with tourists from a cruise ferry that had moored in the forth. I made my way to a fish and chip shop, and after a short wait, was rewarded with a portion that would satisfy a small horse. I sat on the harbour wall, sun on my neck, and tried to make a dent in it.

I cycled home though the woods, clean green leaves with long shadows stretching before me. The evening called for a drink, though although we raised our glasses in an unspoken ode to summer, the cold drove us back inside as soon as a table was free.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.