Life is like a river

By Gunnlaug

Not blooming yet

Spring is usually late here in the northern part of Iceland. The daffodils in my parents garden are not blooming yet, but it looks like there won't be many days until they've opened up their buds. I met this cat when I was checking up on them and we shared a nice moment admiring the yellow colour and lovely aroma from the plants :)

Reminds me of one of my favorite scenes from QI, Series 7, Episode 9:

Stephen
Ausgezeichnet. So... now we're motoring now nicely here. Can you tell me what travels from Land's End to John O'Groats every year at about one third of a mile per hour? But it slows down a bit on hills.

Hugh
Does it specifically go from there to there? Or is it a north-south movement?

Stephen
It actually goes from the south to the north and that includes going from Land's End to John O'Groats.

Hugh
Is it, sort of, er, tectonic wave or something weird? I don't know if they exist, I just made that up I think.

Stephen
No it's not a tectonic wave. No, it's something, sort of, slightly more abstract, it's a phenomenon rather… which you were sort of getting.

Phill
Is it dress sense? When we talk about moving from the south to the north.

Hugh
The gulf stream or something? Sort of, is it a windy thing?

Stephen
Seasonal. It is a season.

Andy
Spring.

Stephen
Spring is the answer. Spring takes eight weeks to get from the very south coast all the way up to the very north, up to the Orkneys.

Hugh
What's the definition of spring?

Stephen
Well, there is a phenotype analysis you can do of particular, kind of, common plants blooming. Anyone who lives, say, in the Midlands and occasionally goes to London will say "Oh my God they've already got their daffodils out" or "We haven't yet" or they'll go north and say "They haven't got their tulips yet". And it's a very noticeable…

Alan
"They've got their daffodils, the bastards."

Stephen
Yeah.

Phill
So the bloke… when the weatherman's on Radio 4 and he goes, "And you'd might like to make note that it's the first day of spring today." "No it's not!" "I think you'll find I'm still freezing here."

Andy
Eight miles a day it does. Spring. Is that what you're saying?

Stephen
I'm saying it takes about eight weeks to get from John O'Groats… and someone's calculated that is being about a third of a mile per hour.

Hugh
You could walk and just beat spring.

Stephen
You could. It's a weird thought. That's very weird isn't it?

Hugh
If you timed it with the daffodils, you can walk at exactly the right speed.

Stephen
That it opens…

Hugh
And they'd go "Boop boop boop boop" And you'd feel that more the beautiful. I'm in touch with my feminine side!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.