Murphy's Lore

By stevemurphy

Doreen ...

... Preston Bus Station.

I've wanted to photograph Preston Bus Station for ages. I've read about it and seen pictures of it and thought it would be a fantastic place to photograph. I was asked to go to Liverpool for work at short notice and while I was there I realised how close it was to Preston and thought it'd be rude not to go.

I wanted to get someone's story while I was there and the lovely DOREEN really made my day. It was hours after we met that I realised she had put a smile on my face for all the time since we chatted. We only spoke for about 4 or 5 minutes but I now know she lives in Brownhill near Preston, she comes into Preston every Saturday morning to go to the shops (the Red Cross charity shop is her favourite because everything in there is £1), then she goes off to Clitheroe (for more shopping - she catches the 280 from stand 58 (of 80)) and then back to Brownhill via Preston Bus Station.

DOREEN is what Preston Bus Station is all about ! She is a gem !

More on flickr

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.