Not just letters home

By haylo53

Nature on the wall

I've always liked green walls, and the one outside Birmingham's newly renovated/still under construction main train station is no exception. Brum can feel exceptionally nature barren at times, if you don't count weeds growing out of abandoned lots. This walkway area which is just above the steel and stone of the train station used to be probably the furthest from nature you could get.

And then all of a sudden, practically overnight, nature appeared! This is now a focal point outside the newly renovated part of the station, and it's awesome. It's full of beautiful delicate flowers as well as strawberries and herbs. When it rains you can literally smell the earth, and when it's sunny bees hover and whizz around the plants, pollinating and doing their thing.

If this green bit of nature weren't here, I probably wouldn't think about this location one iota. In fact I can say that with certainty, because I used to pass by every day before the transformation and it was ugly and unmemorable. Now, I'll go out of my way to walk by it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.