Maybe today

By Feather

Glass and glasses

I know it has been blipped before but I do love this extravagant glass sculpture hanging in the entrance of the V & A Museum.
This sculpture is from a series called “Chandelier” begun in 1992 and inspired by Venetian chandeliers. Designed especially for the entrance of the V & A Museum with 2000 components and weighing 1724 kilos.
Dale Chihuly 2001

Dale Chihuly is a Washington state, based Artist. While my son was living in Seattle I visited on a number of times and was always impressed by the glass art. I would love to have bought something (on a MUCH smaller scale) but was always deterred by the difficulty of packing and transit. How this huge sculpture was made and then shipped and assembled in the museum must have been a story in it's self!

I had a very enjoyable stroll around the V & A.
But I think I may have to send a letter to the museum curators to remind them that there are lot of people (including me) who do not have perfect eyesight. Trying to read the small information signs is difficult and awkward, as they are usually placed right in front of the exhibit and it seems to necessitate a lot of ducking and weaving to try to read the blurb together with looking at the display.
Anyone else have this problem.?

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.