Springtime is Showing Off Time

This blip sure surprised me! I had just taken a fine (if I say so myself) portrait of the * Bleeding Heart Grosbeak. He sat still for a long time for me. He and his mate have been hanging around the garden for a day or two already.
Then, just as I was ready to post the lovely blip, this fully coloured Baltimore Oriole showed up! And an inch out of the frame --I couldn't get all three in at once-- a Chipping Sparrow cock had joined them. I couldn't get the camera disconnected from the computer fast enough to point and snap.
This is the first Oriole I have seen in the seven years I have lived here. Could be that he is attracted to the new, fruity bird seed in one feeder.
Well, here they are in the lilac tree, all dressed up and showing off for their drab females who are lunching down below.

* I think that is the name of this grosbeak. i will check. If someone else has an opinion, please let me know.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.