The Master Mariner

It was the London to Brighton Historic Commercial Vehicle Rally today, which we wanted to go and see, and as it was another sunny day we decided to get the bikes out of the garage and cycle into Brighton. It's the first time we've been on the bikes in about a year, and it's almost a 10 mile round trip, but we cycled along the Undercliff walk which is flat so it was relatively easy.

It was lovely to ride by the sea which was very calm and I love the sound of it lapping onto the beach. The beach cafes were busy and there were lots of people on the beach, it was like a summer's day! When we reached the marina we stopped to watch some swans making a nest, but it was quite sad as there weren't any twigs, they were making their nest out of rubbish - they seemed quite happy though.

When we got to Madeira Drive, we parked the bikes up and walked to have a look at the vehicles. There were lots of historic buses, trucks and fire engines which had made the journey from London, and they were very impressive. But of all my photos today I chose this one of the Master Mariner. It's a pub in the middle of the marina and I liked the red boat moored up outside and the reflections on the water.

The ride home was great until we came to our road - we live at the top of the hill, and I only managed to get so far before having to get off and push my bike the rest of the way! We both really enjoyed being out on the bikes and I'm now thinking that I can possibly cycle to work in the summer which would be great.

Anyway, back home and we had dinner in the garden but it's gone cold now so we've come indoors, so we're relaxing in front of the TV - Alan's got a beer and I've got a glass of wine. Happy Sunday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.