f/Stop f/Start again

By annewokingham

Tying the Knot

LARGE

A beautiful wedding service on the roof garden of New Lanark Mill on Saturday saw my brother John Macmillan "Tie the Knot" with his beautiful fiance Annie. Annie's daughters Katie and Sally were her gorgeous bridesmaids and John's son Iain was his best man.

A hugely emotional day for all of us, as many of you fellow blippers who follow AnnieBScotland will know that she suffered a life changing stroke last year.

They chose a humanist service and "tying the knot" was part of the service to demonstrate their love and commitment to each other. This done using a Macmillan tartar ribbon. After exchanging rings, they also planted a shrub as a symbol of hope.

As I said, an very emotional day, and hardly a dry eye in the house. A beautiful meal and happy celebrations followed. My brother also asked me to make a speech, which I almost got through in one piece, although Annie and I (and I think a few others too were all a bit tearful at one point!).

I filmed the ceremony and this still taken from my video. Great to meet Clydeborn again at the wedding, who was responsible for the stills.

Back home now, and feeling rather shattered.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.