Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Orange!

I must have taken well over 100 shots of orioles today - they are still here and I've counted as many as 8 at a time in the yard. This is a first as I've never had more than a quick visit from an oriole in all my years here. So, needless to say, I'm in heaven and busily trying to get as many photos as possible before they move on. And, of course, I am also hoping that at least one of the males will think enough of the Bistro to stay and raise a brood this year - that would be WAY cool! I've pulled out all the stops - oranges, grape jelly, suet and hummingbird nectar...all of which they seem to love.

The grosbeaks are also still here, lovely creatures. Today a second pair of catbirds showed up which has resulted in all kinds of territorial displays and chasing from the first pair. The good news is that the first pair would not be defending the territory if they hadn't decided to nest here. Hopefully both pairs will be able settled down and play nice with each other.

I watched P-Hummie chase a female hummingbird to the cherry tree today and then proceed to do a very impressive dive display right over her head. She seemed somewhat impressed - well, at least she didn't fly off until he was done. It's is interesting that the hummingbirds, who are only about the size of a human thumb, are not put off by the much larger birds. I saw P perched right next to an oriole today - and the oriole is at least 10 times his size. Fearless little things.

Hubs is still painting the ceiling - a bigger job than he had anticipated I think. But we just picked up some Belgian Ale, so that may make the job go smoother...

If you'd like to see Mrs. Hummie, several other orioles, a singing catbird and a couple of grosbeaks, I've posted 7 pictures on Flickr,

Hope everyone has had a great weekend and that the week ahead brings only good things...

Cheers,
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.