Finisher

Met up with a good friend Brian at Jon and Pennys tonight.

There are some subject of discussion at a meal table that only runners get away with - tales of sore bits, where you rub vaseline, toe nails coming off, I could go on.
Brian last weekend completed the Ultra Trail Mount Fuji - coming 127 out of 1500 starters (he with usual humility didn't mention this) - how far? "something about 165km (about!, I know every run I do to 0.1km). Anyway his description of limping, falling and breaking a rib, then falling again, the bits that rubbed down to flesh(you really don't want to know where), hallucinations, dehydration ( "I drank 4 litres in 10min and had a half hour snooze then carried on") gave a light air to dinner conversation.

He was wearing his finishers top and flashing his guns - so had to be blipped.

Suffice to say I'm in awe, and despite his considerable encouragements have managed to resist offers to join him on whatever mad thing he's getting up to next time.

Jon and I are going for a 12-14mile run in the morning - Brian declined to join us saying he's resting still.....lightweight!.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.