It's Grim Up North

By lynnfot

Ever Written A Letter To Someone You Care About?

When did you last send or receive a letter?

This box of letters has been one of my most important possessions for 35 years. It contains the letters written to me in the 1970's by my school friends and boy friends, once we went our separate ways to college and university.

These letters contain the prototypes of the adults that my friends became.

There are no established careers, no husbands or wives or children;just their hopes and hangovers.

I haven't read any of the letters in years, they are sweet, but painful and very, very real.

I 'm considering scanning them and sending them back to their authors when they hit 60.

I'm still in touch with all but one of the friends in my box.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.