Untitled

Mr. Apple left tonight on a 12:30 AM flight (which was really today I guess). He is going on a business trip to Germany for what he says will be a two week trip but my woman's intuition tells me he will be gone most of the month. I already heard 2 scary noises outside tonight that made me push our two big plants in front of the door to feel a bit safer.

On Tuesday, I am going away to a "cabin" on Orcas Island. My parents' friends said, "Oh, she just has to use our cabin up in the islands whenever she wants." So now I want. I have never been there but I am hoping it looks like Skye or at least our equivalent maybe. I will sit on beaches that will all look like Sea Urchin's beaches, in my mind if not in reality or blips.

Things I want to do on my get away: live simply, eat simply, need very little, be quiet, hear waves and wind, not speak, read poems, practice cribbage alone (the cat already beat me once tonight), photograph leisurely (I romanticized about shooting only film for the week but who am I kidding?!?) I may try Sea Kayaking for the first time (so I may also drown).

Can anyone recommend a book I can take with me? I am looking for something peaceful, calming, relaxing, may or may not be reflective or insightful, fiction or non-fiction. I am already taking 2 books of poems, A Gift from the Sea, and a book about learning to be present in every moment. Something that feels like a respite from noise and TV and the craziness of the world...anyone?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.