Not just letters home

By haylo53

Long Way Down

Ahoy, Bristol! It was my first time visiting the city, and I certainly wasn't disappointed. I love how independent Bristol is and all the cool stuff going on, from bars on boats to kayaking in fountains outside city hall (presumably this only happens on special occasions, but still). Today definitely cemented my view that Bristol is a pretty stellar place as my friend Jas and I spent a blissful afternoon mountain biking around the Leigh Woods nature reserve.

But first we had to cross the Clifton suspension bridge. Actually, crossing wasn't the difficult part. The hard part was the 75m of next-to-nothingness below the edge that I had to tolerate in order to grab this photo. It was quite literally breathtaking.

Intriguingly, I learned that a woman who jumped from the bridge in the late 1800s survived the fall (75 METRES, PEOPLE! Honestly. I can't tell you how impossible this looked from my vantage point) because she was wearing such an abundance of skirts and undergarments that it was basically like a 19th century parachute ride. Definitely don't think that would be the case these days, from the limited attire I saw most ladies wearing today...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.