St Oswald

This is the well at St Oswalds church.

This is where you get the water to keep flowers fresh on the gravestones.

I walked down my beautiful path again today, the snowdrops gone, daffodils died and now the bluebells are out, it is a beautiful place.

I went armed with strimmer to trim the grave but I got a pleasant surprise, a family friend who we've known for years was there and he had already done it. I think he may have moved some dead flower heads too because the ones I left at easter still looked lovely and not one dead one, so two pleasant surprises.

I had a little chat with our friend before lowering the metal cup into the river eden at the bottom of the well to water my flowers so they will hopefully last a little longer. There are steps down and a door to the bottom of the well where you could easily fill the recepticle in one go but its more fun dropping the metal cup attached to the chain into the river and listening to the splash then pulling it back up full. It takes 3 drops and pull ups to fill the flower holder (which is a heinz beans tin!).

We said outy goodbyes to our friend then set off back up the long beautiful path.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.