Farewell But Not Goodbye.

Today I handed over my dance class which has been going for 23 years, to one of my ladies who has now qualified to teach. It is sad for me, but I damaged my knee several years ago which causes me pain at times. Also I was moving away but the bungalow I had arranged to move into isn't available now as the other people have decided to stay put. I do have a few other places to look at, but I really liked that place. I have taught all kinds of dance in the past except ballroom and this class was for country linedancing. As we have got older the dances have become less energetic and the music is often classic songs from the past that people like to sing along to, although some pop creeps in now and again. I had some beautiful presents and flowers and there was tea and cakes. Then the Cambridge News photographer turned up which was a complete surprise. Some us have known each other since childhood when we danced in shows and pantomimes and at the open air theatre that used to be on Christ's Pieces, Cambridge. More happy memories. I shall occasionally call in to the class just to meet up with people I've known for such a long time, so, it's not Goodbye ! I'm the one in the blue and white top standing between two ladies sitting on the floor .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.