Beth Wester Ross

By bethceol

B is for ..........

Has anyone else out there taken part in a T.V. programme, more especially a 'reality' T.V. programme?

Well, last summer, I did. The BBC got together 8 single men from Devon, and 8 single women from the Highlands of Scotland, lit the touchpaper and waited to see what would happen. Nothing much happened. "When Love Comes to Town" was aired in Jan./Feb./Mar. this year and for several weeks I hid behind the couch.

We were all warned that we would be pestered by fan mail, phone calls, people coming up to us in the street etc. etc. I was dreading it. When it didn't happen, I couldn't believe that I was actually a little disappointed.

Anyway, I had my 15 minutes of 'fame'. The good by-product of the show is that I got to meet some lovely people, with some of whom I am still in contact.

One is Neil Bromley - calligrapher & man from Devon - who has been up to the Highlands a couple of times since. He took my breath away with the beauty of his work, and I was so honoured that he sent me this lovely piece of calligraphy as a thank you for the little hospitality he got. (the original is only 4in. by 4in.)

While these 'reality' shows try to engineer friendships, and even romances in the name of 'good telly', it is the people themselves who will ultimately decide how the friendships develop.

Any regrets? None. At the grand old age of 52, I was still open to a challenge, to a new experience, and to new friendships.

Just like blipfoto, really..........

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.