Andy Tang's Photo Journal

By AndyTang

Self perpetuating inspiration

We've had this money tree for a number of years on the windowsill of the downstairs toilet, but it was a little neglected and rarely watered.

About six months ago, I decided to water it whenever I used the toilet (with water, but thanks for checking!)

As I watched it grow, I took inspiration that a little work and attention could cause such growth. I took the time to study for my CISSP IT security exam, which I passed in December.

As it grew with new leaves forming, so did my confidence in myself and started looking for a new job. I felt my role at work had no more growth for me and I needed to change.

I revised my CV with my unwritten skills and formed a new confidence in myself that wasn't there previously, much like some of the shoots and branches forming on the money tree.

I interviewed and got the role, that previously I only dreamt I could do, but like the money tree there is substance where there was previously nothing. The difference is that I now know I can the role.

I got this job a few months ago, but had a long notice period to work out. I did the notice period with patience, much like the patience I had with the money tree, but knowing that patience would lead to something new and beautiful.

I've now been in the role for a month and it has flown by, but I look to the money tree knowing I have many years of growth left in me at this organisation.

I'm sure if the money tree could speak it would thank me, and I'm sure if the money tree could understand it would appreciate my thanks to it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.