Day 2

Of the Scottish Six Day Trials. I don’t really follow this sport at all but our friend C (who is very much in to it) asked if I would come out one day this week with the camera.
All the sections are in the broader Lochaber area and I went to two separate sections at Invergarry and one in the afternoon at Achnacarry. A section has a specific meaning in motorbike trials. The rider is presented with a seemingly impossible route up a slippery steep slope; typically a stream bed. They are signalled by an observer to start the section and they must not put a foot down in order to avoid penalty points. It is both engrossing and spectacular. The spectator can virtually reach out and touch the riders as they go past (or help them pull their machine out of a ravine after they have become unseated).
Between the sections the riders have got to cross long stretches of rough wilderness. If they go too slow they are also penalised. Only lengths on public highway are free from time penalty
I don’t know how many shots I took but I feel like I have already deleted hundreds. I have posted a few on Facebook and C has shared them on the official SSDT page and they seem to be well received so I am quite happy about that.

Unfortunately this poor guy will have suffered the maximum penalty for this section. Shortly after this the bike slid back down the waterfall he had been trying to climb. I would hate to be picking up the bill for running repairs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.