Barn from “Stand By Me”

My bicycle meanderings today brought me past a old barn I’ve admired many times.

I got off my bike and climbed a bit of an embankment for a better perspective.

A young man came out of the barn and asked if I’d seen “Stand By Me”.

I said, “ Yes, sir. I hope you don’t have a junk yard dog”.

He laughed and told me this 100+ year old barn appeared in the movie.

“The scene where the older boys were playing “Chicken” was on the long straight section of road just down the hill and this barn appears in the distance up on the hill as the boys ran the on coming truck off the road into our field”.

“Wow, that’s so cool… I know what I’m going to do tonight”, I told him.

He laughed and went on about his business.

I got back on my bike and rode along the long straight section of road he mentioned.

Tonight I watched the movie, and enjoyed it thoroughly.

Indeed the road and the barn appeared as described.

What a nice fellow to meet, he’s in the photo, see if you can find him in front of the barn with the green shrub behind him.

Full frame:

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.