Pulling Teeth

Delilah - So Irate (Adriatique Mix)

Finally watched Cloud Atlas last night and I was spellbound. It was difficult to catch at first because I was piecing together the individual stories told in the book into the film. The film's editing techniques and sequencing was really spectacular. There was a lot of symbolism and semiotics which were jaw dropping, accentuating the themes of the book even more. The book was beautiful, although Sloosha's Crossing was the most difficult part to endure because I simply couldn't understand what was being written. However, in cinematic form I was compelled to see how it was translated onto the screen and it's the most interesting part of the film for me. Sonmi's was the most inspiring in the book but I felt tired watching those sequences in the film (it's been covered in many other films). However, as a whole, the film was just amazing and despite the whirlwind beginning, it was for me similar to the book where you'd be transported into a different world, written at times in a completely different language, however, after you get "the feel" the expression becomes so smooth. Wonderful stuff.

I'd liken the film to Robert Altman's Short Cuts or PT Anderson's Magnolia, however despite being overly grandiose, Cloud Atlas is a lot more inspiring. It's very difficult to enjoy but it's a marvel.

I must admit, that I might like it because I want to appear intelligent. But I wouldn't be saying this if I didn't feel it somewhere. I hate Tim Burton films, but there's as much artistic merit in them as would have a Wachowski film. So... to each their own.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.