weewilkie

By weewilkie

awake or dreaming

Had an awful night last night. I've been suffering from earache, sharp stabs in my inner ear, since late Monday. Last night I was in and out of sleep between sharp jolts and scalp prickles as if my hair was being pulled.

I got an emergency appointment with the Doctor first thing and it is an inflammation. Nothing to be done except keep taking the painkillers and popping my ears as if I was 30, 000 feet in an aircraft. It will heal itself. So I was off work today, sleeping mostly.

The above photo is of a tunnel on the way to the Drs this morning. It's gutters were clogged so a huge pool of water had gathered. I love these photos where water appears and suddenly reflects another view of the world. It is especially effective, I think, when flipped so the reflection is the sky.

The surreal image created did bring to mind my previous night's unrest. Two worlds reflecting one another. The waking world and the dreaming one. I slipped in and out of sleep inhabiting dreamworlds when awake and taking the outside world into my dreams. And vice-versa and so on... Till what was real or imagined was hard to pin down. Indeed the only reality was the electric jolt in my left ear.

Anyway, I'm feeling slightly better now after a good rest and plenty of painkillers. Hopefully I'm really on the mend and not just imagining it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.