The Shepherd

I finally went to the doctor this morning - breaking a run of about fourteen years of not seeing a doctor. I spoke to the receptionist just after eight, and was in with the doctor by half-past! He confirmed that it was inflammation of the sciatic nerve, probably as a result of muscular trauma and recommended stronger painkillers, back exercises and trying to keep as active as possible. He was also confident that it would resolve itself, but told me to go back if there was no improvement within five weeks. The additional painkillers have already provided some relief, and I'm beginning to feel a bit more optimistic.

I took Rosie through Bluebell Wood, which has this rather wonderful chainsaw sculpture of a shepherd. There used to be another even more splendid sculpture of an eel catcher, but unfortunately the tree decayed and it had to be removed for safety reasons. This one seems to be wearing quite well!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.