When Worlds Collide

By petepunk

Heathrow 01:49:28

Half an inch of snow and Heathrow's head is jammed firmly up its arse. All the aircraft waiting to take off need de-icing and they don't have enough equipment. We spend three hours waiting to disembark, fine with a good book for company but thirsty work once they run out of water.
All subsequent UK flights are cancelled. Terminal 5 is chaos, just like on the telly, and with no information and nobody with any idea what's happening, I'm thinking this only happens to other people.
After running around Heathrow for over an hour, I jump on a bus to Terminal 1 and eventually find a BMI desk. I'm a bit jetlagged and - correctly, it turns out - sceptical when the young Ozzer at the desk smilingly assures me my bag and I will arrive in Aberdeen concurrently. He gives me a boarding pass for the 7.05 flight and I lurch off, in grim need of coffee. Eventually, I find a seat. It's going to be a long night.

words & image: peter thomson

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.