Run!

I don't have huge opportunities for spontaneity in my life, although I take them when I can. Most things need to be planned and that particularly includes exercising: at the start of the week, I work out when I'll be able to swim and run, depending on all the other things I have to do and have planned. If things are busy, I have to squeeze the exercise in wherever I can.

This evening, I wanted to run. I'd hoped to get out around six o'clock but, unusually, I was still in the office at that time. And by the time I'd dropped in to see Dan and Abi, I'd didn't get home until after seven. I was tired and it was cold and raining but I knew if I was going to run, I had to get straight out or it would get dark while I was running. So, I avoided sitting down and got changed and went out straightaway.

And a weird thing happened. Even though I was tired, I ran really well. In fact, when I got back home I couldn't believe how quickly I'd run: almost back at my speed at the end of last year before I stopped running for the winter. This has happened before, though: some odd physical phenomenon whereby, even though I'm tired and don't feel like going out, I exercise really well if I do.

The other lovely thing was that it was only spitting for the first couple of miles and didn't start coming down properly until I was really warmed up. At that stage, running in the rain is delightful!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.